In the rolling countryside, east of the Volga River Recreation Area and off a dusty gravel road named Heron, is a little white church. Constructed by English, Welsh and Scottish settlers in 1882, when Native Americans still roamed the Iowan landscape, the Lima Church is small and discrete, with movable pews, modest decorations and a plain wooden cross on the wall above the podium. An old upright p8iano stands patiently in the corner and four colorful stained glass windows do their best to add a sparkle to the sanctuary -- the founders names are printed simply across the bottom: Hensley, Helms, Henry and Stearns.
The drive to Lima Church is stunning any time of the year. The roads leading to and from the church dip and wind through quiet wooded valleys and expansive pasture lands. Native prairie flowers bloom in the roadside ditches and red farmsteads dot the hills. And in the fall, the hills are alive with color -- which is why on the first Sunday of each October you should plan to take the long way to Lima Church for their annual Lima Leaf Day Festival. Celebrate the fall colors and help raise money for maintenance of the Lima Church and Cemetery.
To schedule a guided tour call the Lima Church and Cemetery Association President and Treasurer: Charles and Pat Baumler at 563-425-3206