Lock and Dam #10 was completed in 1937. Located at Guttenberg, Iowa on the mighty Mississippi, this lock and dam system is still in operation today, ensuring a river channel depth of nine feet. Between 1938 and 1973, the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers required the dam's lockmaster and assistant lockmaster to live on site, and they did, in two white homes overlooking the river. Today one home remains. This home, now managed by the Guttenberg Heritage Society, is the very last lockmaster house along the Mississippi still in its original location. The house, now turned museum, has exhibits about the construction of the lock and dam as well as exhibits showcasing some of Guttenberg's rich history. Several of the rooms are furnished in the style of 1938. One room displays the late Dr. Carson Palmers' medical supplies. Dr. Palmer served Guttenberg for many years as a physician, surgeon, optometrist and dentist. Learn about Guttenberg's service men of WWII, the town's former pearl button industry and the many people who have made Guttenberg such a special place.
The Lockmaster's Museum is open daily from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Closed Mondays. No admission charge. Once a year during Guttenberg's Germanfest, the Lock and Dam #10 is open for a free tour.