Locust School was in continuous operation for one hundred and six years. Reportedly this is an Iowa record for a school building on its original site. The school was built in 1854, six years after the Winnebago Indians ceased occupation of the neutral ground. The village of Locust had been surveyed and settled two or three years earlier.
To ensure that future generations of students would not forget the days of one-room schools, the Locust School Society was founded in 1965 to preserve this unique school. It's limestone structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978, the Winneshiek County Historical Society presently owns and operates Locust School.
Open to Visitors on Saturday and Sunday afternoons 1-4pm starting the first Saturday in June and continuing through the last weekend in August. Also open to groups by appointment.